The ArmadilloCon report

I hide behind your microphone

I hide behind your microphone

My arthritis and I had a tiring but ultimately fulfilling day at ArmadilloCon 2015. We started with a night panel on Friday titled, “Badass, Babe, or None of the Above: Are Women’s Archetypes Evolving (or Not) in SF/F Literature.”

The verdict: Yes, they are. We touched on how our literature and our society was slowly getting more gendered as we moved through the 2000’s but how there seemed to be a push-back against that. We predicted we’d be seeing more women in literature taking on a variety of roles without any character feeling the need to point out their woman-ness.
On Saturday, I had a reading with my Broad Universe buddies, where I read from the first Thrall Beyond Gold and Glory 300 DPIchapter of Thrall: Beyond Gold and Glory. There were some nods. I distinctly remember someone saying, “Sounds interesting.” 🙂

On Saturday night, I had “How Would Alien Life Affect Us?” We panelists were torn on this one. If we discovered alien microbes, we decided that most people probably wouldn’t care. But if we discovered intelligent life that we could recognize as intelligent, we all had a different predictions for what society might do. I said we’d seen so many alien disaster movies, that widespread panic might be in the cards.
Late Saturday, we talked about SF movies from last year and found we couldn’t agree on anything save that Mad Max: Fury Road was well worth the price of admission, and that most of us didn’t enjoy Jurassic World.

BAW and Trakena Prevost

On Sunday, my friend Trakena Prevost and I spoke on a panel about “Writing Fiction from a Gender, Ethnic, Cultural, or Temporal Viewpoint Other Than Your Own.” We agreed that research is key, including talking to people of whatever viewpoint you’re trying to write from. I spoke a lot about writing a trans character in Thrall.

 

 
I also got two new prints from the art show and sold one book. All in all, a good showing for a small but very interesting con. I hope to come back next year.

My next stop is Women’s Week in Provincetown MA in October. I hope to see you there!

2 thoughts on “The ArmadilloCon report

  1. I’m sorry you’re still suffering with RA.
    Sounds like had some great discussions though. I love to hear different takes on the same subject. You never know what you’ll learn.

Leave a Reply

