A lot in the works

It’s middle of the novel time, which is when I usually disappear from this blog for a little while as I do the middle of the book slog.

The Lone Star LesFic conference went really well. I was happy to see familiar faces as well as meet some new ones.

There’s a lot to come on this blog in the coming weeks. I hope to do a new book trailer for Missouri Vaun and I want to do some videos about how to improve your writing speed, if you go in for that sort of thing.

But first I’ve got to get out of middle of this book. Sigh.

When you’re slogging through something, do you just power through, or do you like to take lots of breaks? What helps you power through or get back into the groove?

10 thoughts on “A lot in the works

  1. It depends on the job. If it’s physical, I’ll power through and pay for the aches tomorrow. But if it’s mental work, I sometimes have to take little bites, pause, and then attack it from another direction. I don’t like to stop, but I tend to work more slowly with brainy stuff.

    Of course, that could due to the brain I was born with. 🙂

  2. I’m still trying to figure out how to get past the beginning of my book 🙂 Usually I take small breaks that start to blend into one big break and before I know not I procrastinated my writing time away. So now I’m trying to make sure I power through it, otherwise I lose all momentum.

  3. ‘Middle of the book slog’ is a very good way of expressing how I feel during that part of the story. By then I have a good idea of the ending – but the tricky bit is getting there without rushing through the middle. Going for walks is usually a good way to get myself to think about the characters- take a step back and think through what would happen next.

Leave a Reply

