Spring is here!

Spring in Austin brings one special thing to everyone: allergies. Luckily, that’s my only problem at the moment. I started therapy for my rheumatoid arthritis, and I’m happy to say it’s going very well. I have to go in to the doctor’s office every few weeks and get an infusion, and then I feel really good. No joint pain, minimal shakiness. No more bad hand days!

Of course, after my first infusion, I got really sick because my immune system is so compromised, but this time, I’m going to be more careful. I’ll just have to be satisfied with run-of-the-mill sneezing and coughing brought on by Austin’s spring season. I’ll muddle through somehow.

My gluten experiment never got far off the ground because I backslid so often, but I did take away a few things from it. I don’t buy bread anymore and very little pasta, so I’ll be able to reap the health benefits there.

Hopefully, I can keep improving and write more and more books until someone finally tells me to stop…or Austin kills me.

AND I have the schedule for the Lone Star LesFic Fesitval! Here’s when I’m scheduled to speak and such:

9:45 – 10:15 Registration

10:30 – 11:30 Group discussion: “Lesbian Fiction: Dreams, Affirmation, and Entertainment” about why we love lesbian fiction and how we came to write it.

11:30 – 12:30 I’ll be reading in room B

1:30 – 2:30 I’ll be signing books at the book signing table

2:30 -3:20 “LesFic Super Powers: Vampires, Demons, Ghosts, and Psychics” I’ll be moderating this panel.

Plus, there will be many more authors, another group discussion, more panels, signings, and readings. We have something for everyone, including a silent auction, a $3 book table, plus lots of vendors selling books, jewelry, clothing, and more! And on top of that, there will be at least one giveaway, possibly more.

And I will be fully mobile. ^_^

How’s everyone else feeling? Anyone up to traveling?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Spring is here!

  1. You have my sympathies (my allergies kick up in the fall).

    That superpowers panel sounds interesting. Are you going to include actual superheroes, like Batwoman and the Question? Shrinking Violet and Lightning Lass?

    “11:30 – 12:30 I’ll be reading in room B” – out loud, or just quietly by yourself? 🙂

  2. Having a compromised immune system sucks … mine is still struggling to reboot after my cancer treatment in 2013 … hope your rheumatiz treatments go well too, ‘cos that sucks as well.

  3. What exactly do they infuse you with? (pardon my grammar) 🙂

    Lately, hubby and I have been suffering greatly. We’ve been taking pain meds, but I don’t like to take them unless it’s really bad that day.

  4. Allergies are acting up all over the state. Just an hour north of you, sneezing and red eyes are happening. Oh the pollen, cedar and all of nature lol! Glad to know you’re doing better 🙂

    I won’t be able to make it to the festival but I’m sure you’re going to have a blast

Leave a Reply

