Do you review?

Do you ever leave reviews for the books you read on Amazon or Goodreads? Maybe from whatever site you buy them from?

The opinions about reviews are mixed. Some authors say they’re an invaluable way to convince others to buy their books, and some readers say that good and bad reviews definitely sway their purchases.

Others say that reviews are useless because they’re so easily faked nowadays. Authors will get friends to give their books five star reviews, or readers will give their favorite authors good reviews and attack anyone they perceive as a rival author, whether they’ve read the rival author’s books or not.

I’ve also heard some people say that they don’t review unless the review is good, and that makes others think all reviews are even more slanted.

When I review, I try to do it honestly, but there have been times I’ve given a friend with no reviews a good review. I’m as guilty as anyone. But I also read reviews for books I might buy with a grain of salt, judging them by how in-depth the review seems to be. If it just says, “Wonderful! 5 Stars!” I don’t pay it much mind, just as if it says, “Terrible! 1 Star!” Both of those just get glossed over. I also read to see if maybe the reviewer was bugged by something that wouldn’t faze me, like if they really hate prologues (or cliffhangers ^_^). Since neither one bothers me, if that’s the basis for a whole bad review, I disregard it.

Thoughts? Musings? Rants of inconsolable rage? And since we’re talking about reviews, I have to put some links in here. If you read any of my work, please consider leaving a review on Amazon or Goodreads or wherever you bought the book. I like honesty, and I’ll only cry where you can’t see. Promise. πŸ˜‰

9 thoughts on “Do you review?

  1. Sometimes I feel obliged to write a review [on Goodreads or WordPress] whether it is good one or not so good. I like giving my point of review of the story I read and I know numerous authors encourages reviews.

  2. I don’t review as much as I used to. Part of the reason is because it takes time and careful consideration to write a review with substance.

    As for reading reviews, I tend to read the 3 star reviews most. They generally give a more level-headed reasoning on whether a book worked or not. The five-stars are usually from friends or paid sites and the one stars are almost always from bitter and petty people.

    If a book is truly bad you’ll see a lot of 1-2 stars, but if it’s a personal attack, you’ll only find one or two 1-star reviews.

    • I agree about the time and consideration, Maria. I usually give four star reviews because no work is ever perfect, but also because I’ve heard that people don’t give much weight to five star reviews. However, sometimes I just love a work and I have to give it all the applause I can. Then I make sure to write something to go with the review.

  3. I agree with you – I only pay attention to in-depth reviews. I also only review books I’ve finished. I almost never finish books I don’t like, so I have very few reviews under 3 stars, but it’s not because I’m bumping up my numbers.

    I write in-depth reviews on my blog but recently began posting them on Goodreads too, and soon I’ll add Amazon. I figure it’s nice for the authors πŸ™‚

    Speaking of reviews, your series is getting an in-depth review on my blog at the end of this month πŸ™‚ It’s my top read for 2014 (and early 2015)!

  4. I review on Amazon if I buy it there and Goodreads regardless.
    I get a lot of books from friends so I don’t always buy (Kindle loaning and such), and I also get ebooks from my library. So I don’t end up purchasing most of what I read.
    I do have a Kindle, so I also get books from Kindle Lending Library sometimes. I’ve considered KU but I’ve heard mixed things from authors about how good that is for them and I honestly figure I’d rather buy from the authors I love in many cases because I know they don’t get so much for borrows.

    That said, I try to leave immensely good reviews for the reads that I truly enjoyed. You know how much I’ve boosted your name about on Facebook. I’ve boosted it in other venues too. I end up mentioning you anywhere I discuss books because I enjoyed your work so much. I do similar for any author I love. Rothfuss, Butcher, Briggs, Sanderson. I tell everyone how much I love them and I rate them very highly.

    I am a very honest reviewer however. If you go look through my Goodreads account you’ll see plenty of 3 and 4, even a couple lower star reviews. If something didn’t tickle my fancy, I will point out it may just be me. I’m a very critical reader. But if I loved something, I’m going to give it a good review so others will see that and know it’s worth reading too.

    As a reader, I honestly never really think much about reviews being faked unless I see one that honestly looks faked. I never really thought about 5 star reviews coming only from friends and family until you mentioned it here. As a reader, I just think “Oh, it has good reviews.” Then I read the blurb. And I’m like that. I’ll glance at a cover, go quickly scan the reviews, and if it has a good spread of high stars and not too many low stars, I’ll read the blurb. >_< I know it's kinda backwards.

    And you know, I wouldn't have found you if not for Goodreads. I found you there on an LGBT list. You were hailed by many for the best lesbian fantasy series. So I decided if it was considered one of the best, maybe I'd like it. I did. πŸ™‚

    I'm not sure if I answered your question now. I may have just rambled wildly. Whoops. πŸ™‚
    Yay for reviews right?

    • Aw, thanks, Arsh. I’m grateful to everyone who tells people about my book. Word of mouth is the best press, imo. And you’re not backwards at all. A lot of people read blurbs last or not at all.

      I really like goodreads. I’ve found a lot of new authors through there as well.

Leave a Reply

