A bit of this and that

We’re enjoying unseasonably warm weather down here in Austin, so I’m writing with all the windows open today. To those of you buried under snow around the world, I’m sorry. I’ll think warm thoughts for you.

I’ve been absent off social media lately because my joint pain has been pretty bad. The diagnosis is still up in the air. I had an MRI on Monday with my already painful joints contorted unnaturally for half an hour. I call it the Tube of Death now (patent pending). Hopefully, they’ll be able to tell me something. A friend suggested I cut some gluten from my diet because that helped her. I’ve read some medical sites on the subject, and none of them agree, though most took the attitude of, “Might help, might not.” As long as I continue to get the nutrients I need, it might help. And cutting some carbs is always a good idea (at least for me because I lurve them so). I ‘ll keep you posted on how it goes. (I’m not looking for specific diet sites or meal plans right now, just so you know. I know some people are very passionate about this, but I don’t want to debate, either ^_^.)

I’m hip deep in two different projects right now. More details as they become available.

And just because, here’s a pic of two of my lovely animals:

Roxie

Roxie

Daisy

Daisy

What’s everyone else up to?

16 thoughts on “A bit of this and that

  1. I hope it helps you! I went Keto Jan 1 and it’s helped me a lot with lots of things, weight, pain, and anxiety included. I hope what you’re trying helps you immensely! I get the pain thing. I have had a lot of ambient pain for the past few years so I’m ecstatic that something is finally helping me to feel better.

    MRIs SO SUCK. I had to do one last year to diagnose my nerve problems and they didn’t even warn me about how tight it would be and… of course… I’m CLAUSTROPHOBIC so it was a NIGHTMARE. I seriously cried afterward and had night terrors for weeks.

    Ugh I never want to do that again >_<

    Anyway, I hope you feel better soon!

    • Ack, Arsh! I’m sorry you had to go through that. I had to close my eyes and pretend I was elsewhere or I think I would have gone full screaming monkey. I’m glad you feel better now. I hope I will soon.

      • It was so bad they had to pull me back out after pushing me in the first time. :c
        I then had to stay twice as long because the MRI was SO tight that I could barely breathe without it moving my head too much. The second time sucked because I had to pretty much do my best to not even breathe. For you know… 25 minutes. >_<

        Uggh. One of the few things I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy. Well maybe my WORST enemy 😉

        But yes, I feel much better now!! I really hope you will soon too! I hope your diet choice makes you feel better! I know that I felt the carbs affected my body in many ways so hopefully the change you're making will help you too. 🙂

        Do you use Biofreeze at all? For a while there, I don't know how I'd have gone through the day without mine. It was really good for the joint pain, but also for muscle pain that I had a lot of in my neck and shoulders. If you haven't tried it, it's worth a try. Also I found Magnesium supplementation made me ache less. I got a liquid form on Amazon that's Magnesium citrate which is easier on the gut and better absorbed. Anyway, there's lots of things that can help so I hope you find the thing that will work for you! Good luck ^^

  2. I’m so sorry you’re still suffering with this inflammation.I have several friends who suffer with RA and their lives can be a living hell when it flares up.

    Re: diets
    I’ve never been a big believer in specific diets though I know certain foods do help lower inflammation like turmeric and garlic. I guess it couldn’t hurt to eat more of the good foods and lower the use of sugars.

    If I ever find that magic bullet, I’ll let you know.

    • Thanks, Maria. I don’t like diets like this either. I’m only trying because my friend recommended it, and even then, I’m not going crazy, more looking at it like it never hurts to cut some carbs, much as I adore them. I don’t ever give anything up cold turkey. For me, that’s the surest way to fail at something, so I’m going slowly and seeing if I can spot any difference.

Leave a Reply

