Pics of Saints and Sinners in New Orleans

First, some pics!

 John Morgan Wilson, Michael Thomas Ford, me, David Holly and Rob Byrnes

John Morgan Wilson, Michael Thomas Ford, me, David Holly and Rob Byrnes

Here’s me doing the genre panel. We lamented the closing of bookstores as a way to get the word out about new LGBT fiction. The moderator asked if we described our books using genre terms. Some opposed the idea of genres altogether. Some said they never tried to pitch to anyone outside of the LGBT community. I said that I pitch my book to anyone I think might read it but that I describe it differently to different groups of people. If I know my potential audience is gay, I throw the lesbians right out there. If I suspect they aren’t, I start with the idea that it’s fantasy and add the lesbians in slowly, like flour to homemade frosting.

Here’s me reading:

I had the only lesbian fantasy there

I had the only lesbian fantasy there

I read the pirate fight scene from A Kingdom Lost. I don’t know if anyone was moved.

Here are some New Orleans pics. If you’ve never been there and are thinking of going, just remember that the French Quarter is noisy at all times of the year. Bourbon Street is party central, as we heard clearly from our 15th floor hotel room, one whole street away.

The beautiful (if very noisy) Hotel Monteleone.

The beautiful (if very noisy) Hotel Monteleone.

The bar (also noisy) inside of Monteleone

The bar (also noisy) inside of Monteleone

Bourbon Street, where the noise comes from

Bourbon Street, where the noise comes from

Bourbon is full of bachelor and bachelorette parties, frats of dude-bros, and flocks of woo-girls. Not my scene.

What was my scene was my fab birthday party complete with dogs in party hats:

IMG_20140522_172954798

IMG_20140522_172840175

As you can see, they needed a little cajoling. Thanks to everyone who sent me birthday wishes. You guys are the best.

What has everyone else been up to? Any New Orleans stories you care to share?

p.s. I added some Horsestrong sayings to the Worlds tab at the top of this page, just in case you were curious.

6 thoughts on “Pics of Saints and Sinners in New Orleans

  1. I haven’t been to Nawlins but have heard many a tale about visits there. Most of them involved drunkenness and questioning what they might have done in that state. lol!

    Happy belated birthday! Looks like you had the perfect party guests, even if it took a bit of cajoling 🙂

Leave a Reply

