Happy Bookiversary!

A year ago today, Bold Strokes Books published my first novel, The Pyramid Waltz!

Now I’m working on the fourth book, the end of the series, and it’s been quite a ride. I’ve been to Sci-Fi and literary conferences. I’ve been to Provincetown, Mass to Palm Springs, Cali, all hawking this book and its brethren. I’ve done internet radio and blog tours and spoken at writing groups and done signings.

It’s been a helluva year. ^_^ I’m tired but happy, and I’m not done yet.

I hope you’ll join me this Friday night at 7pm central on Cocktail Hour where I’ll be talking about the books, Barbie trailers, and whatever else the Cocktail crew wants to ask me about.

After that, I’ll be taking a short blog hiatus, returning here in three weeks. In the meantime, you can also find me at Fen Con on October 4-6.

Anything anyone want to know about marketing? All questions will be answered at least semi-truthfully.

16 thoughts on “Happy Bookiversary!

  1. Awesome for you! Congratulations. Trying to get my book published and going to a convention at the end of the month. Do you think it would be a good idea to self-publish until I get picked up? Do you think it would be a good idea to post a page of my book a day on my blog to build a following? Thanks Barbara, and congratulations again. It is always exciting to see hard work paying off.

    • Thanks, Thomas (if that is indeed your real name). ^_^
      Should I self-publish or go the traditional route is an old debate. As I understand it, the numbers one has to have to get picked up after self-publishing are fairly huge. The best advice I ever got when trying to decide whether to self-publish or not was: consider your audience. If you think your book has mass appeal, try querying agents. If you think your book has niche market appeal, try smaller presses. If you really just want to see your name and print and are good at marketing, try self-publishing. The marketing angle is a big part of it. If you’re very good at reaching out to people, and you already know what you want as far as editing and layout, then by all means, try self-publishing. I warn you, though, it’s a lot of work because you also take on the role of publisher as well as writer. Luckily, there are a lot of sites out there (like Smashwords) that can help.

      The page a day thing could work. I’ve seen other authors do something similar. Maybe a paragraph a day, a really attention grabbing one, to hook people in?

      • Awesome, outstanding advice. Best take yet I’ve heard on a popular subject. I think that querying agents is my best bet based on your advice. Is there any way self-publishing could hurt my chance of getting picked up, if I am querying agents at the same time I am marketing the book?

      • Hiya MC … the thing to remember with posting stuff on your blog is that it will be considered PUBLISHED, and trad publishers (no matter what their size) are a little jealous of their prerogatives in that department.

        It might work if you say you are posting ‘excerpts’ … or if you release, for example, the first five chapters on your blog and then self-publish the entire book soon after you post the fifth chapter.

        Whatever you publish through your blog, make sure it’s edited to within an inch of its life. Anyone you query, (agent, publisher, Ellen Degeneres!) if they’re interested, WILL check out your blog, and all other links you provide them with.

        Trad publishers won’t touch self-published stuff unless you’ve sold tens of thousands of copies and have a huge following. Basically they want to capitalise on your hard work, and even then there’s no guarantee it’ll do any better with them.

        Either way, good luck 😀

        Widder

  2. Holy moley! After all your traveling (online and live) you could use a vacation.

    Re: agents down on self publishing

    I don’t know that traditional publishing cares so much whether you’ve self-published or not any more. They’ve made some of their biggest profits from people like Howey and Hocking. –total unknowns until they hit it big on the indie side of the tracks.

    But I definitely would not post anything on a blog or other public venue because it takes the shiny off of it and all publishers want first rights.

    I’ve always liked the idea of doing both traditional and self-pub’d though. It’s a good way to stay visible.

    MC: Self-Publisher’s Punch List is on sale, but if you email me directly, I’ll send it to you free.

    Barbara: Thanks for the shout-out, hon!

  3. So happy you’ve had a fantastic year. I’ve enjoyed watching you have a blast via the blogiverse and visiting at your signing. I look forward to seeing more from you as your publishing career grows 🙂

Leave a Reply

