The Everlasting Blog Tour

I was looking forward to writing a blog post after my whirlwind blog tour/first public appearance. Some things I learned: people really like a laugh. The funnier you are, the more likely they are to like you, but that might not necessarily sell books. It’s HARD to make people part with their hard-earned cash, though a few people I spoke to were convinced to give my book a try, and I’m happy that it’s gotten some good reviews on Amazon and Goodreads.

The longer the blog tour, the more people lost interest, especially in the couple of weeks in which I blogged. There’s only so much people can read about one person. After five or six blogs, I think people felt like they knew me. And it was hard to come up with that much to say about myself in such a short period of time, especially when my book was all I had to talk about. I broke up some of those entries with more personal stories, not only why I wrote The Pyramid Waltz, but why I wrote at all, or things from my childhood that led me to writing. Seems people like stories they can identify with. ^_^

So what do people do if they can’t be funny? I guess they just write beautifully. Also, just because a person isn’t Lol funny doesn’t mean they can’t be friendly and approachable. In Provincetown, I was blown away by the people who wanted to come up to me and talk to me about my book, who really loved the characters and wanted to tell me that. I have felt these feelings; I have complimented authors on their characters or world-building. I told RA Salvatore that he rocks. Even after I wrote a book, though, I never dreamed it would happen to me.

When one lady found me in the bookstore in P-town and gushed about how much she loved Lord Hugo, I nearly asked her which member of my writing group had paid her to be there. Or the very small, bruised child within me expected her to end her outpouring of love with “Psych!” (She didn’t do that. I know that if she had, certain members of my writing group would have flown up there just to get in her face. Trakena, looking at you…. ^_^)

I was so blown away by this happening that I nearly cried, and all I could stammer was something like, “Thanks, glad you liked it,” and “What a sweet thing to say, thank you so much.” I’m profoundly thankful that she didn’t ask me any questions about the characters because, in that moment, I couldn’t remember a damn thing about any of them.

I think blog tours and personal appearances are still a good thing, and will probably help you sell some books, as long as you remain true to who you are. Or if you give them cookies. That should be a greeting card. Stay true to yourself…or bake.

Do the ideas of blog tours and personal appearances scare the crap out of you? I found that eating right before I was to speak helped me a lot. Without food, I can get a bit manic, and even a small bite calmed me down. Do you use any tricks before speaking to groups?

p.s. I’m going to but on my beggar hat now. If you have read the book, please help me out by leaving a review on Amazon or Goodreads. I know Amazon requires you to write something, but on Goodreads, you can just give the book a star-rating. And if you’ve already left a rating, thanks so very much. End begging.

17 thoughts on “The Everlasting Blog Tour

  1. You know, I have to agree with you on the humor angle. People have been very receptive to the blog posts Gwen and I have done on our Partners in ParanormYA tour. We’ve done very few posts that deal with us directly – mainly interviews – but more about our characters or starring our characters so that blog readers could enjoy them. That’s been the main reason we’ve been able to come up with the posts we have.

    I’m hoping that the length of time for this blog tour hasn’t been too long. We’re still going, ending on October 31st. I’ll have to take stock when this has ended to see how things worked out. I have a feeling I’ll be echoing your observation about the length of time for the tour.

  2. Some of the points you made could be entire blog posts.

    I did one blog tour with a solid month of stops, and it was too much. Granted, it was very successful because I had scads of new followers after that. And it helped that I wrote those posts two months before hand, but it was brutal. It’s hard to write 25+ brilliant posts.

    I promised myself never again.

    Humor works very well. As do posts that share experiences or posts that teach something. But it also matters where you’re seen. I try to avoid other authors unless I’ve written an article specifically on publishing. Most of my guest posts for mass-consumption have gone to reviewer blogs or authors whose blogs reach a much larger audience than mine. The trick is to be seen by as many NEW people as possible–and then give them something they want to read.

    Online promotion is a lot more complex than it appears on the surface. But it’s all trial and error. I know *now* what works for me, but it might not work for you. We each have to play to our strengths.

    I don’t care much for personal appearances because you don’t reach near the number of people as you would on the net. Plus it’s time consuming. The travel time alone would kill me. The only time personal appearances would be advantageous is if I had a book that directly impacted the locals.

    But it’s all good experience, something you’ll reference and compare again and again.

    • I agree that we all have to play to our strengths. I really enjoyed my appearances, and know I want to do more. Other authors are also readers, though, and I think they appreciate posts for mass-consumption too.

  3. Writing is such an alone-ly business that we need to get out and do the meet-n-greet thing so we can, apart from selling a few copies, receive the feedback that makes all those hours (days/weeks/months/years) that we’ve spent hunched over our parchment and ink worthwhile.

    The first time someone asked me to sign my book I was cool on the outside, but inside I was going, ” ohmygodohmygodohmygod!

  4. I have a great fear of getting in front of others and speaking in general, Barb, so I cannot imagine getting up and speaking about something as personal as my book. I give you major props for doing this!!! (Not that I won’t force my tail to do it when it’s my time to, and knock it out of the park =)…but it’ll still scare the mess out of me).

    But know that you’re awesome, so I had no worries what-so-ever!!!

    Oh, and I definitely would’ve been there if someone had done a “Psych” on you (and you know I’m not playing).

  5. I LOVE your blog, and am so thrilled with your success so far. Sending good karma your way.

    Also, I love the honesty you put into this post. I think it is important for writers to fully understand what a blog tour is and how difficult it can be to do well. Thanks for sharing your journey.

    I wish you the best as you continue on your way!

    *ps ordering book now*

  6. You’re dead on the money about the laughter part. It’s something I dread because my sense of humor is not obvious. I’m self-deprecating, but so dry, you kind of have to know me to realize, I’m JOKING. Yeah, dreading this part of book sales, but your recount of the happy reader just about had me in tears. What writer wouldn’t want to hear THAT?

    I have to admit, I’ve been so out of it I didn’t know your book was available. I will go check it out.

    • I’m glad you liked the Pyramid Waltz! I haven’t written a new blog in a week, so I don’t know why it notified you. I’m doing a guest blog tomorrow. Maybe you got some weird supernatural preview. OoooOOOooooo!

Leave a Reply

