And then I grew a pair

Went to see R. A. Salvatore last Friday night. He’s been one of my literary heroes since I was twelve. I know he got a lot of shit about working for TSR/Wizards of the Coast. He talked a little about it. Apparently, writing for a chain like WotC gets you flack from SF/F writers the same as those SF/F writers get from people who don’t produce genre fiction. You’d think those SF/F folks would know better, having gotten the same shit themselves.

Haters can hate all they want, though. Salvatore’s fight scenes can’t be beaten, and they fostered my love for fight scenes in general. Salvatore is the reason my characters are so stabby, or so I tell myself. When I got to the front of the line to have my book signed, I told him he was one of my heroes, and I told him I had a book coming out.

He wished me good luck, congratulated me…and then I gave him a bookmark. ^_^ One of my friends called that “ballsy” but it seemed a natural move. He took it, and I was ecstatic, but later I thought, what could he have done differently? Said no? Even if it gets thrown in the trash or left in a hotel room, I’m still glad I did it. I got to share something with my hero, and that’s the most important part.

R. A. Salvatore and my left hand

Have you ever met one of your heroes, literary or otherwise? What did you share with him/her?

10 thoughts on “And then I grew a pair

  1. I admit, I have no idea what this flack stuff is about. And I don’t understand why SF and F or SF/F or any other version of the coupling should result in getting or giving flack. I guess I just like everybody too much lol!!

    Your move was a ballsy one, one that will be needed. You’re putting your words out into the world. And no matter who it is, even if it is your hero, you’re going to want them to read your work. So you and your pair rock on πŸ™‚

  2. I’ll never forget the advice I heard an agent give once. I think it was Miss Snark, but I can’t remember anymore. She said never give your business card to an agent. And that if any agent takes it, they’ll just toss it in the trash when they get to their room.

    That always stuck with me.

    But then there’s the other adage, nothing ventured, nothing gained. Salvatore could just as easily kept your card out of respect–and your nice rack. πŸ™‚

  3. I didn’t meet her, per se, but I’m a big fan of Alma Alexander. When I found out she was a member of the same writers’ association as me (BU), I emailed her, asking if I could interview her for my blog ring – and she said YES! There was much squeeing that day! She’s incredibly nice, it turns out, and when it came time that my first novel was getting published, I plucked up my courage to ask her to blurb my book. Alas, the schedule/timing didn’t work out and she couldn’t do it, but again, was super nice. And now she is sending me signed swag for my blog tour contest. I so hope I get to meet her someday in person – alas, I’m too much of a dork to be either cool or ballsy–there will just be a lot of over-excited drooling and squeeing, I’m afraid πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

