We have liftoff!

Well, we have a date for liftoff. My novel, The Pyramid Waltz is being published on:

September 18, 2012!

Woooooooo hooooooo! It might seem a long way off, but it’s really just around the corner. I’ve got so much to do, most of it mental preparation. I’ve got to get ready to talk to scads of people I don’t know. On the internet, it’s easy. In person, it can be a lot harder. I can be pretty funny, but I usually make jokes around what other people are saying, making them laugh. If people won’t talk to me, well, there’s not much I can do. I think I must be meeting lots of introverts lately. When no one can think of anything to say, damn it’s awkward.

Does anyone have any tips about getting people to come out of their shells? I’ve got a lot of talking to do. ^_^

Right now, let’s celebrate. I don’t drink champagne, so this will have to do:
(Find this recipe here.)

What are you up to this week, friends? Got any big deadlines looming on the horizon?

16 thoughts on “We have liftoff!

  1. Congratulations! You have a date for your baby to be presented to the world. That is wonderful.

    I’m not really good at breaking people out of their shells. Most times, if they dont’ want to talk, I’m at a loss.

    I’m just writing and reading, reading and writing. If there’s anything I can do on my end to assist with your big day coming up, just let me know.

  2. There is nothing better than getting a release date! H-u-g-e congratulations. Can’t wait to see it!

    As for getting people out of their shells, it all depends on context. I would suggest opening with a topic you’re pretty sure they’re interested in. Start with an open-ended question (not just a question requiring a yes-no answer); e.g. “What do you think of…”

    That should get most people out of their shells. If they STILL won’t talk to you, too bad. Their loss.

  3. Congrats Congrats Congrats (he says with more than a touch of envy).
    as for drawing people out of their shells… well, i have to work hard to come out of my own, so probably the best advice i could give would be very similar to Kaz’ above… find an interest, hopefully a mutual interest, and start the conversation with that.

  4. Congratulations! That’s so exciting!

    I totally hear you about the awkward conversations. I think it’s tough to rely on bringing people out of their shells, because you never really know what’s going on with someone else, and what if it’s impossible? So I think it’s nice to have a few one-liners or sound-bites prepared just in case. It might even put the other person at ease.

  5. CONGRATS!!! That’s exciting and amazing!

    I’ve got no advice for you though, unfortunately. I’m totally one of those introverts who finds it hard to have something to say. I’m give the appearance of being outgoing online, but in person, I think it’s a different thing. Haha.

    But I think you’ll do great! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

