I’m a total nerd

So, finally back from the Star Trek convention in Las Vegas. I would definitely recommend the convention, though the organization seemed spotty at times. What do you want, there were over 4000 people there! Even so, there were times I thought the organizers pulled some boneheaded manuevers and some other times I thought they were a little heavy-handed with their rules. Overall, though, I had an absolutely brilliant time. The stars were awesome, all seemed very relaxed and natural.

Patrick Stewart, Kate Mulgrew, William Shatner

Kate Mulgrew (Capt. Janeway) talked about being a female captain at the Star Trek convention. Evidently, William Shatner asked her how, with hormones going crazy every month, a woman could be a good leader. Kate said women just rise above those things. I think the question itself is insulting.

Sure, I get the monthly hormone invasion. At home, alone with my husband, I can indulge it. If I’m feeling sad for no reason, I can sit in a room alone and listen to jazz, wallowing in my sadness. But if someone were to hurt themselves or I needed to get work done, or just snap out of it, I could ignore it, recognizing fake emotions for what they are and blowing past them. My emotions, fake or not, don’t rule me. And I’ve met plenty of men who are slaves to their emotions, too, but since they don’t have the monthly fake emotions, they get a pass.

Bleh, Bill Shatner, bleh.

Jonathan Frakes was a hoot, walking around and talking to fans all convention long instead of spending much time backstage.

And here’s Leonard Nimoy. (We were seated far back enough that we had to take most of our pics via the “jumbotron”. Apparently, this was Nimoy’s last Vegas con,and his next appearance in Chicago is going to be his last Star Trek con. Whether or not he’ll be back in 5 years for the 50th anniversary of Star Trek, we’ll have to wait and see. Nimoy did a very cute film that he showed before he spoke, and he had some great pics to show the audience. He even choked up a little as he spoke about all his Star Trek con experiences.

Also very nice and genuine were George Takei and Nichelle Nichols signing autographs. They were both very very sweet. They took the time to speak with everyone who got their autograph. I reminded Nichelle that she once told Shatner to “kiss her black ass” on television, and she collapsed into giggles.

Some costume pics. Bonus points for people who can tell me who’s what! Extra, extra bonus points if you can guess which one is my husband. The hint is in the background. ^_^

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Overall, I would reccomend cons and I would not recomend Las Vegas if you don’t gamble…or if you can’t get the hell out of the way. ^_^ Maybe I should dress up like this guy next time:

No one got in his way….

10 thoughts on “I’m a total nerd

  1. I’m soooooooooooo jealous… I’d love love LOVE to get to the Star Trek con one of these years. But on the other hand, I don’t really want to go to Vegas…

  2. loved seeing the photos and hearing all about it. must stop reading your blog on my phone or in my email, but not visiting to post. specially liked hearing how nice the people were. will tell Tim all about it.

Leave a Reply

