Baking post part…a million

I have no idea how many baking posts I’ve done. At least two. Anyway, this is going to be another one. ^_^

This past weekend was my mom’s birthday, and she requested this fabulous recipe from Bakerella.

Little burgers…made from cake.

That’s a yellow cupcake cut in half with a brownie in the middle and icing made to look like lettuce, ketchup and either mustard or cheese, depending on who’s looking. ^_^

Here they are all in a row:

I had three left over, so what could I do but write “Mom”? It was either that or attempt art, and art and I don’t get along so well…

I didn’t do Bakerella’s little basket, but I did go ahead and make the fries:

Cuz what’s a burger without the fries! Those are sugar cookies, btw, coated with extra sugar to make them “salty.”

It’s kind of disturbing how much they look like burgers when you’re eating them. Your brain says, prepare for little hamburger, but then it’s all cake. It’s like lying to yourself. ^_^

But the lie tastes soooo good. ^_^

10 thoughts on “Baking post part…a million

  1. Back in the late 1990s there was a movie called Good Burger. My son loved it and wanted a hamburger cake for his birthday. My baking skills are very basic, so I had our local grocer design and bake one. It was huge and awesome, but your cupcake burgers and fries are even more awesome!

  2. I have the ‘Hello, Cupcake!’ cookbook and there’s something similar to this in there… I’ve always wanted to try it, for April Fool’s Day maybe. Hmm. No, I definitely don’t want to wait THAT long for cake…

    They look DELICIOUS.

Leave a Reply

