Should have learned a lesson from Nanowrimo

I’ve been agonizing over my new project. I know I’ve been dragging my feet on it, trying to pull out of the writing slump that attacked me in February. I’m slowly but surely coming out. I wrote over 3500 words yesterday and I hope to do just as well if not better today. I want to get the entire draft done by the end of April, you see, the better to spend May editing. And as I watched my word count go up yesterday, I still thought, “I’m never going to make it in time.”

Rubbish. Have I learned nothing from Nanowrimo? Or even of my other writing experience for that matter? I shouldn’t be looking at projects as a whole. I should be taking them bit by bit, word by word. I took what I had written, subtracted that from my word goal for my first draft and then divided that by the days I had left. Know what I found out? C’mon, have a guess.

Just over a 1000 words a day. Just over a thousand. Not even up to nano totals (1667) a day. I can blow that out of the water. I can do it in my sleep. I knocked over nano in two weeks before. Needless to say (too late) I’m feeling positive about my word count total now and just thought I would share that with you. It’s almost never as bad as you think. ^_^

Did something you were recently dreading turn out for the better? Or did you take a turn for the worse? If so, you have my sympathy. I’ll bake you a cake.

10 thoughts on “Should have learned a lesson from Nanowrimo

  1. You’ll get out of it soon… really! I did jack all in February in terms of writing, too. But I’m trying to pick my feet back up and I’ve made some goals. Here’s to taking small steps every day 🙂

  2. Attitude is everything! If you think you can, you will. I signed up for Denise Jaden’s “March Madness Challenge” but haven’t made the kind of progress I intended. I could feel defeated, but the “glass half full” approach points me to what I have already accomplished that I probably wouldn’t have otherwise. I have five days coming up next week that will take me away from my computer but I’m looking forward to putting winter behind me and getting back into my regular routine when April arrives.

  3. Things have worked out better than I expected but I’d still like a cake, please. Preferably angel food with chocolate icing. We’re dieting but it would be rude to turn down such a generous offer…

    My word count on my WIP has averaged zero the last couple of months, so I’m optimistic that I can do better in April. 🙂

Leave a Reply

