Some work done, Halle-freakin-lujah!

So, I seemed to have gotten over my writing slump, at least partly. I haven’t been writing much, but I’ve been doing it just about everyday. The cure happened to be very different from what I expected. Instead of taking my computer to a change of venue, I took myself.

Leaving my computer behind, I went for walks, or cleaned my extremely nasty house. I took the dogs out and played with the cats. I bought new pens *drool*. (Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know I have a problem.) But it worked. Shopping and exercising put me in the mood to write as much as watching tv or relaxing never did. (As an aside, my reading had slowed down along with my writing in my slump, but since I’ve been getting out of this chair more often, I’ve devoured two whole books!)

I feel like days have been longer and more productive. During my slump, the idea of a prolonged writing spree was frightening. An entire weekend of watching the cursor blink on a sea of white background? No thanks. Now I feel like I could do it. I didn’t need rest. I needed rejuvenation.

Might this work for you? Is it still too cold around the rest of the planet to get outside?

12 thoughts on “Some work done, Halle-freakin-lujah!

  1. It works. I know I write better when I get to the gym or get active in some way, but I had that chest infection, then the monthly cramps that are worse and last longer on blood thinners. (Hooray for the end of blood thinners!) And that should be done by the end of the week and then I will get active again. And write again.

    I’m glad you got past your slump.

  2. Oh you’ll get no words of censure from me on the pen thing. I’m a fountain pen addict myself! And I find dogs are a better author’s companion than cats because the fresh air you HAVE to breathe on a regular basis gives you time to blow the cobwebs out.

    As for the rest of the planet, remember that there IS a southern hemisphere and that it’s summer there. Here, in my little corner of the equator, the Big Monsoon is over and it’s starting to really heat up.

  3. I just bought a whole new set of Sharpies. The excuse was some photo posters that I’m creating for an upcoming family gathering, but I admit I didn’t really *need* them. A new pen is always motivational!

    Winter doldrums don’t usually bother me too much. Days like today, when it’s blowing snow and bitterly cold, are good excuses to hunker down inside and write. I keep the TV off in the daytime as it’s just an invitation to be hypnotized into a glassy-eyed stupor which isn’t a very productive state for me.

    Maybe you’d like to join Denise Jaden’s “March Madness” writing challenge. I’ll be posting about it later this week. Then again, it sounds like you’re doing well again on your own. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

