Longer than expected

I took sort of a blog vacation there, and it ended up being an internet vacation. I don’t think I’ve done much on the internet except check my email since I posted my London pics!

It was kind of relaxing, but today is a new year. ^_^ Resolution #1, work again to get published. I’ve tried what’s being called “traditional” publishing, querying agents to try and break into large publishing houses. Now, for my second trick: small presses.

First step, research. I have to compile a list of all the small sf/f presses I can find. Luckily, from my first few skimming attempts, I see that some sites already list a few, though the sites I’ve found so far seem woefully out of date. After I have my list, I have to whittle it down with concerns like which presses would be the best fit for my work, how large their internet presence is, etc.

I know there are several good small presses in California, but according to the websites I’ve found, they only distribute in California. As long as this only refers to what they ship to bookstores, though, it shouldn’t matter. They’ll ship books to individuals (and individual e-readers) all around the world.

So, as you can see, I’ve got a lot of research to do, but I will include you every bumbling step of the way. ^_^

I know everyone’s already asked you this, but what do you hope to accomplish in the new year? If you don’t have a list, that’s fine, too.

6 thoughts on “Longer than expected

  1. A new year always feels like a good time to make a fresh start. Best of luck on your search. I hope you find just the right publisher to meet your needs. I don’t make annual resolutions but will be continuing my 2010 pursuits… looking for an agent and finishing the work I have in progress. I want to write and submit a few more magazine articles than last year, perhaps earn enough $$ to cover conference fees again. I usually can afford to attend only once every couple years but would love to go every year. Here’s hoping 2011 will be a year of increasing opportunities for both of us. 🙂

  2. As long as I accomplish more this year than last year, I’ll be happy. I haven’t made specific goals yet, and I’m not sure I will… it didn’t work out last year and I think it did more psychological harm than good. But either way, I’m trying to approach the new year with a positive outlook.

    Good luck with your small press ventures! It seems like an excellent way to get your writing ‘out there’ when traditional routes don’t pan out. Might as well get those finished stories out in the world somehow while you work on other things! I’m considering trying that this year as well, though I may be getting ahead of myself… lol.

Leave a Reply

