Awesomeness

First, to get it out of the way, I’m up to 58K on nano. I hope to be over 60 before the night is through. It’s weird, people. Sometimes, I think I’m writing so much I can see through time…

As for further awesomeness, my most excellent friend Marilou sent me this:

Squeeee!

She conceived of this mini purse and its fellows to be key chains that hold ipods and their ilk while you work out. As I work out at home, I use mine as a money purse. If you want your own, you’ll have to visit her Etsy page: Clothdragon’s Horde.

She has some fun designs that I think everyone should check out. Each is a little different, but of course, I’m partial to mine.

Rawr!

That gives you a better idea of size. You know who I bet would love these? Jen at Epbot. I’m soooo sending her a link. ~__^ Whoops! I see that Marilou has already created a mini purse in Jen’s honor! Well, now she knows about you, Marilou. I hope you sent that purse!

Bleh!

Now, a question for all of you who have queried or are querying: if an agent requests and exclusive, and you grant it, and then that agent is overdue on the time limit you set and asks for a continuance, how much time should you give?

12 thoughts on “Awesomeness

  1. That purse is so cute!

    Ref: agent
    How much time have you given her? Normal is 10 days/2 weeks.

    If you really like this agent I might give her another week. But she’d have to be on my top tier for that.

  2. Is it your dream agent? (the word plotz comes to mind despite me not knowing any Yiddish) Did they give a reason for the continuance request? Was it reasonable?

    I would assume that if you say no continuance, you get a ‘no’ back because they haven’t had all the time they needed. Are you ok with that?

    I know, those aren’t really answers, but they should get you closer ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. How much more time did he ask for? From what I’ve read, 30 days is a reasonable length of time for an agent to have an exclusive on a full manuscript. Since he’s had it 3 weeks but asked for an extension, you may want to give him another week–2 at most–and tell him you’ll be resuming queries to other agents after that time.

    Here’s a link to a discussion regarding this topic, if you’re interested: http://agentquery.leveragesoftware.com/group_discussion.aspx?discussionid=ce5bf25e8d724319a8fa43eeb2a39321

  4. Pretty cute (and versatile) creation! I have a little zippered leather sort-of-change-purse that I use for keeping my flash drive backups secure in my purse. Very handy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for the agent, as others have said, a lot depends on how important this agent is to you, whether she had a reasonable excuse for needing the extension, and how long she’s already had your ms. If you didn’t check before you queried, now might be a good time to ask/look around on the forums to see if anyone else has had a similar experience with her.

Leave a Reply

