Bits and bobs

I don’t have a cohesive thought today. Ha! So I’m going to throw a few things out there.

NanoWriMo is coming. Are you ready? My username is zendra if you wanna friend me. And if it’s a race you want, I guarantee I’ll make you sweat. ^_^

What’s your opinion of -ing verbs? To be cut mercilessly like anything ending in -ly? ^_^ I find I use -ing a lot in action sequences.

Maria Zannini is going on a blog tour. I’ll be updating you on where she is, or you can follow her blog yourself.

And there is a lot of swearing on this blog, but I loved it all the same. I originally got the link from Epbot, which is geek girl heaven.

I’m now hard at work on my sequel. (Heh, makes me sound pregnant.) Thanks for the support, everyone. You guys are boss.

13 thoughts on “Bits and bobs

  1. Thanks for the shout out, Barbara. You scared me at first when your next paragraph said ‘there was a lot of swearing’. And I went, wha– Oh, good, she meant the other blog. LOL!

    Ref: sequel = pregnant
    That’s clever! I’m not pregnant, I’m producing a sequel. 🙂

  2. I’m dubious about doing NaNo this year. I may change my mind but right now I don’t see it happening. I have a couple works in progress already and neither are ones that I want to dash through, and I don’t really want to start something new. Good luck on your effort. My name is Wildwood Gal, so if I happen to get there again we can connect.

    Oh, and in answer to your second question, I over-use “ing” verbs but edit most of them out again during revisions. I think most times they weaken the writing. Just my opinion, of course. 🙂

  3. I’m definitely not ready for NaNoWriMo, and I’m a second year ML… heh… *breaks into cold sweat*

    I’ll add you to my friends list, though! Maybe a friendly challenge among blog buddies will be what I need to push my totals up above 50k this year. I always plan to write more, but end up sprinting to the finish line in the last few days. Oh well.

    My NaNo username is dark_phoenix. See you over there!

  4. I’m afraid if I did Nano, I’d either lose my job, lose my family or both. I’ll keep slogging. Slow but sure will still get me there, but good luck with yours!

    It depends on what I’m ing-ing. ;D If it’s combined with “be/am/is, etc” it’s outta there. But there is a time and place for everything and ing words have their uses.

Leave a Reply

