As promised…

San Francisco pics! I did not take my laptop to San Francisco with me. (I wanted a no pressure kind of vacation) so I had plenty of time to snap pictures with the help of my husband.

First up, the iconic streetcar, which gets manually turned around at the end of the line:

A circular section of pavement turns so the streetcar is headed in the right direction. It’s not a smooth ride, lemme tell ya. Cars pull out in front of streetcars because they’re a little on the slow side. But they are the best place to experience very steep hills:

We’re headed down to the bay area piers on this one, and they do pick up some speed while heading down.

Here’s another icon seen from when we took a short bay cruise, the Golden Gate bridge:

Foggy as it was for the first few days, we had to get this close to even see the damn thing. Of course, the day after we took this cruise, it cleared right up. Figures. Anyway, we had fun, but damn it was cold. Here’s another landmark shot: Alcatraz.

They send tours there now, but when we asked about tickets, we were told they were booked until Tuesday, the day AFTER we left! Ah well. We were plenty busy. We looked at seals:

We visited Ocean Beach and walked UP a cliff. Yeah, you heard me. Up a cliff. I think one of my lungs is still there:

Okay, so it wasn’t a cliff. It was a hill, of the cliff-like variety. The athletic among you can feel free to laugh.

Anyway, my favorite place in San Francisco has to be the Japanese tea garden in Golden Gate Park. I took so many pics of the place, and here are a few of my favs:

I love that gnarly tree. I have no idea what any of these plants are called, though, so it’s no good asking. The place was just amazing. It made me want to revisit my first book that was, in part, about walking trees.

Here’s a couple of parting shots for you, the view from our hotel during the day and at sundown:

Ahhh. So much tv watching took place in that room. So many sore feet got complained about. How’s that for grammar, eh?

Favorite vacation memories? Please share.

14 thoughts on “As promised…

  1. San Fran! Did you eat any Rice-a-Roni while you were there? … er, anyway… we had a family vacation to San Francisco years ago, and we actually went to Alcatraz… now THAT was fun. I can’t believe tickets were sold out while you were there! I guess that just means you’ll have to go back someday… 🙂

  2. You always take such great photos! One of my favorite vacations was in grad school. Tim had been working in Virginia over the summer, but we met up in California with his friends Darin & Helen for a ten day tour that started in San Francisco, looped through Yosemite and Death Valley and Vegas (not in that order) and ended in LA. The first day we got on the boat to Alcatraz for our tour…and he proposed. Very fond memories of San Francisco and would love to go back some day!

Leave a Reply

