Doings, Happenings and Goings On

I’m back! I was in sunny, breezy San Francisco and am now back in the ol’ Texas oven. Here’s a cliff view from Ocean Beach.

I’ll have some more pics for you later in the week, once I’m organized.

While I was out there, though, I got an email from an agent requesting a partial. Only problem is, he wanted an exclusive partial. I had to write him and tell him that other agents are currently looking at my book, and he said he’d take a look if all the others came back with a no.

I’ve never gotten an exclusive partial request before and thought I never would again, however…

Once safely aground at home, I discovered I had a phone message…from an agent…requesting an exclusive partial.

0_0

I was enormously excited that an agent actually called me, another thing that has never happened to me before. I was very nervous about having to call him back. (I don’t do well on the phone at the best of times. Without visual cues, I tend to start talking over the other person.) But in his message, he said he would email me, so that’s how I replied. Whew. He also said he would look at the material if all the others came back no. That’s heartening and disappointing all at once. I mean, I’m glad they’re interested, but I have to wade through a few no’s to get to their interest. Ah well. I’ll think of them as a safety net. ^_^

How was your weekend? Did you miss me? Awww, I thought so. Do any of you actually live in sunny Cal? Any writing news I missed?

10 thoughts on “Doings, Happenings and Goings On

  1. Hey, congrats, Barbara!

    That’s great news to come home to.

    Ref: exclusives
    The advice I was always given is if you’re in a situation where you want to give an agent an exclusive to only do it for no more than 10 days. If he’s serious, he’ll get right on it and won’t keep it tied up.

    Good luck!

  2. Welcome back Barbara- I missed your posts hehe 🙂 I’m glad you had a good time and that picture looks amazing!
    Congrats on the news- even if they wanted exclusive, your material is interesting enough to get two agents to request partials and one to even call you, you got safety nets 😉

Leave a Reply

