A little bit of this and a little bit of that

First off, I got a new pen. I know you’re very excited.

I propped it up on a mechanical pencil so it could catch some light. It’s from my good friend Pattie who always aids in my addictions.

Also, my husband and I went bed-shopping today. Next week is our 15-yr wedding anniversary, and we really wanted to spoil ourselves. We found one we really like, but the store can’t have it to us until mid-July (like most things in their store), and I was a bit disappointed. Naturally, this led me to thoughts about writing, about really really wanting something and having to walk away empty-handed time and again. To all of you submitting and getting rejected out there, I salute you. I know your pain.

On that same thread, I did hear a bit of good news. A story I submitted to a magazine is being held over for the senior editor to look at. I’m not getting my hopes up too high, though. I’ve been at this stage before. Still, even after all this time, it’s pretty exciting. Put on your good-luck hats.

Got anything you want right now but really can’t have? (Except publication for those unpublished. ^_^) Got any really good news to share about getting something you’ve wanted? Doesn’t have to be material. It can be as abstract as peace of mind. Wow, come to think of it, that would be a lot harder to just up and get….

10 thoughts on “A little bit of this and a little bit of that

  1. Well, I really want a Kobo eReader but apparently paying the bills comes first. *pssshaw* Guess I’d better stuff the stack of free eBooks I’ve been collecting back into the virtual computer drawers to catch dust.

    Hrm. Getting something I’ve wanted… well, I didn’t necessarily *want* it, but I had my teaching skills reaffirmed through a lovely email from a student. That was really nice, made my day!

    Good luck with that story on submission!

  2. Good luck on your contest submission.

    I actually have news. I signed a purchase agreement on a house that I really, really wanted. I plan to start an integrated childcare program for preschoolers. One step closer!

    But don’t tell anyone. We’re keeping it under wraps until the deal is done.

    • Getting out from under a mortgage would be a beautiful thing, Maria. I’ve never been able to do it myself. It seems like something that’s always just out of reach for us, but I’m happy for you. ^_^

Leave a Reply

