I have a serious addiction

Wanna see?

Some of my better pen and pencil cases are in that shot, too. I got the Egyptian one in NYC, and it says “The British Museum” on the back. Since I’ve been to the British Museum, I didn’t think buying it in NY was cheating too much. ^_^

But these aren’t all my pens. The less interesting ones are in a drawer. Wanna close-up? I know you do. ^_^

I started collecting years ago. Now I wander into the office supply section of whatever store I go in and look for sales or oddities. My friends are complete enablers of my addiction, I’m pleased to say. Over the years, they’ve given me bird pens:

Japanese pens:

Sparkly pencils and one from Brown University:

and a pen-cup shaped like a large recycling can:

One person even carved a pen and case for me, etching my name into it, too:

And I’ll never forget the Pierre Cardin set my mom gave me when I graduated college:

Have I used them all, you ask? But of course. I’ve gotten a little OCD about their first usage. To try them out, I take out a white sheet of paper and write “This is a [whatever-colored] pen. With some of my larger sets, that’s taken quite a while. It’s bizarre, I know, but what is life without a little strangeness? I mostly use the very odd-colored ones for editing first drafts or doing critiques. Nothing stands out quite like sparkly neon orange.

I love it when people walk into my office and ask if I have a pen they can borrow. Most of the time, I manage to say “No” with a straight face.

Do you have any collections? Or as I call them, addictions? ^_^

23 thoughts on “I have a serious addiction

  1. Before I get into my ‘addictions’, in the interest of total disclosure, I have to tell you that I am a HUGE pen thief. I can’t help it. I start talking to people and before I know it I’ve absconded with one of their prized writing implements.

    I swear, I don’t even know I’m doing it. LOL. I see a pen and I go, ooh, pretty. :swipe:

    I collect dog figurines and paintings, and antique wood boxes.

    And I have lots of pens. Lots and lots of pens.

    If you’re missing any, you might want to see me first.

    (hides)

    PS Very cool collection btw. umm…where do you live? You know, in case I need a pen. 🙂

  2. Seems kids are easier to get than pens in some parts of the world. Who knew?

    So, I’m sitting here (mental image of Buddha in place?) making a list of addictions. Paper, C9 Christmas lights, kitsune, stickers, notebooks, postcards, Peeps, pancake recipes, Alice in Wonderland…I could go on, but I’ll spare you. Though I have to say, I go for pencils over pens.

    You’re in the will, darlin’, all pens go to you. ^__^

    • If only there was some way to combine all your addictions…. It would be a truly epic sight. Woo, I’m in the will! You can have mine if I kick it, too. They’ll be delivered in a crate.

  3. I would call it sweetly quirky!

    Those pics are great. Thanks so much for sharing your fun little secret!

    I can’t honestly say I have a collection of any kind. Which is really sad when you get down to it. I think we moved too often as kids and I never had the opportunity or space to save things.

    I’ll have to try harder…

  4. I have several pens I bought as souvenirs of our vacations, but I don’t think of them as a collection. I recently noticed that I have LOTS of keychains, too. However, my true love is salt & pepper shakers. I had dozens of them, but didn’t have a display case for them and quite a few got broken. My favorite is Paul Bunyan and his blue ox, Babe.

  5. Oh! This is fantastic! I’d be an enabler of you too… haha. I used to collect pens, but we moved around a lot when I was younger, so the collection got jumbled and lost, and I never got back into it.

    I do love notebooks/journals, though. I can’t resist a journal that catches my eye…

    But ultimately, I’d say I collect books. They’re in piles around my house, and I have overflowing shelves in the basement… my husband thinks I need help, I say the best help is MORE BOOKS!!!

  6. I have a pen addiction too, but not so picturesque as yours. I collect them everywhere I go, especially nice fat ones that feel good in my hand. I hate skinny pens.

    Even though I do most of my writing on my laptop, I love the feel of writing in longhand on paper.

  7. Oh, my! I thought I had a lot of pens but their numbers are nothing compared to yours. I don’t collect them, at least not as a real collection. I just like them and keep buying new ones.

    I collect pottery mugs, loons in a multitude of forms, and blank journals. (I’m always afraid I won’t have a new journal that I like when I need one, so every time I see a beauty I can’t resist buying it.)

  8. I used to be very fickle with pens, love ’em and leave ’em (in a drawer, or two, or three).

    But now I’ve settled down.
    http://www.lamyusa.com/fountain_main_safari.php

    That’s been my main axe for around ten years. I have three, always with different color inks. Everything I write (fiction,not blog posts) is written first with a pen. The computer part comes later. There’s no sensual pleasure in writing on a keyboard, at least for me.

  9. Pingback: Did You Have Cool Stationery | Sharing Interesting Stuff, Updates News & Free Tips

  10. Pingback: Did You Have Cool Stationery? | Viral KittyCat

  11. Pingback: Did You Have Cool Stationery? | SOCIOSCENE

  12. Pingback: Did You Have Cool Stationery? | Amazon Deal Of The Day

Leave a Reply

