Overhaul

The short story I sent to IGMS was rejected today. The editor was kind enough to give me feedback, and said the plot, for him, was too simplistic and ultimately unsatisfying because he saw the ending coming. My husband asked me if I was going to overhaul the story. I probably could, but I don’t really want to. I like the story, and if I have to end up shelving it, I will, and just write another story if I submit to them again.

Do you overhaul based on feedback you get? Plot problems are major problems, and I find it easier to just write another story, to just start over with something different. Have you ever stripped something down to its bare bones and redone? Or do you shelve it and begin something new? I have stripped and restarted before, but I have yet to get that approach to work, even when all I take is a scene or a character or a concept. I always end up chucking my notes and starting completely from scratch.

2 thoughts on “Overhaul

  1. Barbara,

    I don’t have a problem with major overhauls. I write so off the cuff that all my manuscripts require some serious edits to catch the plot holes and drop the unusable scenes.

    However, before I would take any advice on a major rewrite, I have to sit back for quite some time and let the idea stew. If I come back to it after a handful of months and it makes sense, then I’ll gut it and move forward.

    But, that’s not to say that my way is the right way. It certainly isn’t the easy way!

Leave a Reply

