Novels and soundtracks

Up front, I have to say that I don’t usually listen to music as I write. I find it too distracting. If I’m writing in a public place that has music, I try and tune it out.

When I get in my car, though, it’s a different story. I think about my project, and I’m influenced by what’s on the radio or in my cd deck. If it’s dance music, I’m thinking action scenes. If it’s grunge, I think of verbal confrontations. Peppy pop music makes me think of fun times the characters have together. And love songs, well, that’s easy.

When I’m having trouble with a project, I seek out an album that seems to reflect my stories or my characters. On my last project, it seemed like I listened to nothing but Tina Turner.

Do you listen to music while you write? Does any kind of music influence you more than others? Ever write a novel set to a particular album?

8 thoughts on “Novels and soundtracks

  1. I don’t listen to music when writing, but other times I’ll hear a great line and it’ll spark something.

  2. I need quiet when I write, but when I’m in the car ‘thinking’ about the story, I like to listen to action movie soundtracks for fight scenes, and country songs for love scenes. They inspire me to get into the right frame of mind.

  3. I absolutely agree, no music while writing.
    I can’t help it if I have music on my internal voice sings along (even with instrumental).
    If I’m stuck I don’t go to music, I go browsing the web for photos of the subject area.

  4. I like having music in the background while I write. It sets the mood for some scenes, and acts as “white noise” to drown out the sounds of the tv downstairs, cats fighting, etc.

Leave a Reply

