Speaking of waiting

I’m doing a little bit of waiting right now. There’s a contest I entered last month. The winners will be announced this weekend. I’m still waiting to see if IGMS will accept my story (pleasepleaseplease), and I’m waiting for the Writers League of Texas to update their 2010 conference page so I can sign up for an agent consultation. I have to make sure the one I pick takes my genre, after all.

I stopped going to conferences for a while. We didn’t really have the cash, but the WLT conference is a big one in Texas, and I don’t want to miss it. My first experience there was two years ago, and I still look upon it as a good one. My project was ultimately rejected by the agents I sent it to, but it was good to meet them in person just to prove that A) they’re real people and B) they’re not heartless banshees. Meeting agents in the flesh drove home the surety that they were just people doing a job.

If you ever have a chance to attend a conference at which agents are present, I highly recommend you go, so you can see for yourself. One tip, though, don’t follow them into the bathroom. ^_^ Not that I ever would, but I’ve heard stories. Spooky, spooky stories.

And look at that! Right as I made this post, the WLT updated their 2010 conference page! THE UNIVERSE OBEYS MY COMMANDS! Or not. Probably not. ^_^

2 thoughts on “Speaking of waiting

  1. I would love to go to WLT conference this year, but there’s just no way I can justify the cost.

    But…should I win the lottery, I’d go in a heartbeat–and then I’d look you up. :o)

Leave a Reply

