Jewelry is the only thing I really like describing

Is that bad? Setting, clothing, appearance, I’m not a big describer of any of them. My rule has always been that less is best, so I don’t interrupt the flow of the story.

Give me a piece of jewelry, though, and I’m all over it. Funny thing is, I don’t even wear that much jewelry. I guess I just like to look at it. The Houston Museum of Natural History has a new jewelry and gemstones display, and I think I could have hung out there for hours. It gave me some new ideas for pieces in my story.

The problem now is to not get carried away. ^_^ I’ll keep repeating it: less is best, less is best.

What do you love to describe? Do plants move you? Nature in general? Are you a jewelry describer like myself or are you carried away by faces? Or none of the above?

Also, I’ve been blogging for a year now! Holy crap!

10 thoughts on “Jewelry is the only thing I really like describing

  1. It’s funny you brought this up about description. I mentioned it in passing for this Friday’s blog post.

    I don’t go overboard on description either, but I’ve learned from my CPs how to make my description stronger so I don’t get carried away when it is a topic I like.

    In my case, it’s dogs. LOL.

    Happy blogversary!

    PS I’ve added you to my reader so I can keep up with your posts. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. For me, the less description the better, so my beta readers usually ask for more 🙂

    What I tend to go on about are things I’ve researched–I generally wind up cutting 90% of that stuff in subsequent drafts! It’s funny how every detail seems important in the first draft, but later I’m like ‘why did I put that in there?’

  3. I love describing furniture. In my notes I draw little diagrams so I don’t forget what is in each room. I’d love to include all the details, but hopefully I’m only mentioning what needs to be in the story.

    Congrats on sticking with the blog for a year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

