Let me explain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up.

When do you use them?

My characters had several dead-ends to investigate while looking for clues to the villain’s identity. I thought there were too many to do in “real-time” so I used what would be a montage in a movie, but is more like a summary in a book, I guess. A little glimpse of description and what happened followed by the mc thinking something along the lines of, “Damn, not this one either!” I tried to intersperse these summaries with longer passages of description and dialogue where the characters piece together what they know.

I have no idea whether it works or not. I like it, but I’m going to depend on the writing group to tell me if it’s flowing the way I want it to and whether it should be expanded or cut down even further to, “They looked all day and found nothing.” I don’t want too abrupt a fast forward, but I also don’t want the reader to feel like I’m dragging my feet or wasting time before the end.

Does this type of short summarization usually work for you? Or would you rather read, “Later that afternoon, they still hadn’t found anything.” The first approach gives more of a sense of time passing, imo.

2 thoughts on “Let me explain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up.

  1. Barbara, it’s so hard to answer this question without reading the story. Your style throughout and the way you present the “evidence” make a big impact on whether it works or not.

    You’ll have to trust your betas. : )

Leave a Reply

