Scurrying

I’ve been pretty busy these past few days. My husband and I took a day and went to Houston, and yesterday I spent all day adding up sales tax for our 2009 taxes. Needless to say, I didn’t work much on finishing my ms. It sort of reminded me of the end of the story, though. I’m scrambling to tie up loose ends, and all of a sudden, my characters are very busy.

I realized that I forgot to put in a party scene, so I squeezed that in, and then one of my heroines needs to train a spiffy new power. I’m either going have to expand these sections to slow them down or cut some of my more languid earlier scenes and just pull these hurried scenes back. Or maybe I’ll leave them hurried and have my characters thinking like I am now. It’s been a busy few days.

Do your characters ever feel hurried?

2 thoughts on “Scurrying

  1. The protagonist in my novel is always feeling pushed to do something. She’s getting rather stressed out over it, adding to her problems sleeping. I feel sorry for her, but she better learn to cope.

Leave a Reply

