I have them completely fooled!

My writing group, that is. And I can post that here because I know that none of them read my blog. I love them dearly, but they just don’t spend that much time surfing the net. ^_^

But, as to the fooling, they’re trying to figure out who my villain is, and I have them chasing red herrings every which way. It’s such an…accomplished feeling. There have been clues, which makes me think that if someone were to read the book at his/her own pace, s/he would figure it out. Whatever. I’m just jazzed that they’re interested enough to speculate.

And I love my little herrings. I think the secret of a good decoy is making them suspicious, but not overly so. They need a motive to be bad, just maybe not as bad as the true villain. If every character has it in him/her to turn evil, all of them are potential decoys. Hooray for gray characters.

3 thoughts on “I have them completely fooled!

  1. That’s such a fun feeling. I can only hope my latest novel will do the same when it finaly gets to the beta reading stage.

    I hope some figure it out and others remain stumped. Then you’ll know you done good!

  2. Somewhat. A few ladies and I started a writer’s group after a conference last spring. However, one ended up with school as a priority, another had her mother pass away and now my last partner is getting married and will be moving.

    *sigh*

    As to online, I’ve got some readers who pop up every once in a while depending on the project. It would be nice to live in a metropolis where writers are more prolific than plot bunnies.

    I do have a supportive community, however, which is extremely helpful.

Leave a Reply

