Shedding

I just made a huge cut in my manuscript. I wasn’t looking forward to it. I thought it would set me back by a mile, and there wasn’t really anything wrong with the stuff I cut. It just didn’t fit the plot anymore. But now that I’ve done it, I feel relieved. A big stumbling block in the narrative is gone, and I feel like I have room to get on with it. I used to save this kind of cut in case it would be of use later, but I don’t do that anymore. The information in it is rarely ever pertinent again. And I realize now that the idea of cutting this huge bit was holding me back. Now that it’s out of the way, it’s full steam ahead.

5 thoughts on “Shedding

  1. I compare ms cuts with pruning, something I have to do a lot (both in writing and gardening). Pruning always improves a tree or rose bush by forcing life into what’s left. I’ve found it works the same for writing.

    Unfortunately I keep a lot of my cuts which clog up my computer like the dead wood they are. ^_^

    • I like the pruning image. It feels just like that. It took a long time before I could just delete the cut scenes. Even now, I have trouble with it. Maybe it would be cool to put all the cut scenes in a document together and see how it reads. Highly schizophrenic writing! ^_^

      • Yes, I had a character in my original story that I had to cut. She was a wonderfully naive and lovable pet psychic named Sheila. I had to cut a HUGE part out of my first, or whatever #, draft and she had to go. Then my computer crashed and now she’s lost forever. 😦

        But I put a lot of scenes in a Folder I call ‘OutTakes, because I love the out takes they do at the end of Pixar movies. Even Pixar has to cut good stuff!

Leave a Reply

