Wow, look at that readership plummet!

I hope it’s just for the holidays. Luckily, I can see what small numbers my blog is pulling in, but you can’t. Whew.

The day after Turkey Day was extremely productive for me…and I had pie for dinner. I’ve been editing my new project, and it’s going extremely well. I had to write a very uncomfortable scene, and it’s made me think a lot about the kinds of things authors are scared of, what they don’t want to write about, or rather, what they’re scared to write about. Sex or fights, or something more terrifying like incest or rape, I think we’ve all got subject matter that we shy away from. Writing my scary scene (and no, I won’t tell you what it is, that would be giving too much plot away) was very cathartic. It helped me to push a boundary that I thought I wouldn’t push, or was too scared to push. It made me feel like I could write about anything if the story called for it. It opened new avenues for me, deeper if darker places to explore.

What I have to deal with now is having my character react to her bad situation in a believable way. I don’t want her to get over it with a wave of her hand. She’s a strong character, but she’s not superhuman. I want her to be slowed, not stopped. I’ll let you know how it goes.

5 thoughts on “Wow, look at that readership plummet!

  1. I recently had a problem similar in that I had a strong character that I didn’t want to be slowed down too much by a situation but she had to react to it. I kind of failed at the reactionand have had to work on it a bit to make her more believable. Good luck with the scene.

    • Thanks! Yeah, it’s a pickle. On one hand, I want her to be believable, but on the other, I don’t want her to turn into a sloppy wet mess for the next four chapters. I’m going to be leaning heavily on my writing group for their reactions.

  2. I got to read it this evening (husband privileges), and I can see where this part dealt with some stuff that may have been hard to write. You pulled it off quite tastefully I think. I am proud of you!

Leave a Reply

