“It’s a bit pants at the moment…”

So, I’ve been bitten by the nano bug.

For all of you who don’t know what that is and don’t want to follow the link, nano (or nanowrimo) is National Novel Writing Month. It takes place in November, and people all around the world try to write 50,000 words in one month. Scary, no?

Not so much for me (and that’s not JUST ego ^_^) because I’ve done it twice before. I think I can have the first draft of my current project done and be editing while I do a separate nano, which I haven’t done before, but hey, I like a challenge.

I hope you all like one, too, because I want lots of nano buddies this year. It’s completely free. All you have to put up with is the sometimes slow nano site, which is where nanowrimos congregate, update their word counts, and find other nanowrimos. It’s a great way to find other writers in your area or make connections around the world.

So, if you already plan to nano, now want to nano, or just want to find other writers, give it a try. And look me up once you set up an account. My username is zendra. If you can’t find me, send me your username, and I’ll find you. Good luck, and I’ll see you on the runway. Or, um, internet. ^_^

Oh, btw, to write 50,000 words in one month, you have to get at least 1,667 words a day. I know! Yikes. Don’t let that intimidate you, though. Just think, at the end of a month, you could have the first draft of a freakin’ novel!!!

5 thoughts on ““It’s a bit pants at the moment…”

  1. I did it last year (didn’t even know it existed until I saw it on your site a couple of years ago, so it’s your fault :p), and I’m doing it again this year. I was really surprised at how many nano parties and stuff were going on where I live, last time!

    I wasn’t a winner last time, sadly, so I’m determined to make it this time! You won both times, didn’t you? What’s your nano username? I’ll add you as a writing buddy :).

  2. Are you mad? Don’t do it! It’s MADNESS!!!!

    I did it the past 3 years, as did my wife. The first 2 years (2006-7), both of us won. Last year, we just kind of… lost interest halfway through. It’s a great exercise, but I think after you’ve proven you can do it, you don’t need to any more.

    So I didn’t mean what I said. Definitely do it! Do it and win, and then you’re all good and can go on to write many a novel.

    Sorry, I’m sleep-deprived and this post made no sense.

  3. Your post made sense, Bart. We all know you’re sleep deprived. You run a magazine for crying out loud.

    I get a lot of good out of nano. It’s like making hardcore notes and a partial draft that can be mined at a later date. Plus, I like the feeling of everyone writing together all around the world. Too often, I feel like I’m writing in my own little cave.

Leave a Reply

