The way the wind blows

So, I started writing a love story, just because it’s been on my mind and because I wanted to see if I could do it. Because I’m me, the love story quickly turned, um, non-traditional, for lack of a better word.

As I was writing it, this entire other idea popped into my head about these characters and what they’re going through, and now I have demons and combat and magic and betrayal, and the love story got pushed to the secondary plot.

I’ve realized something. I don’t like love stories. I like stories that have a romantic element, a subplot. I like the element because it adds a new layer, a potential new wrench in the cogs for characters to deal with. What, I have to fight demons AND I have to deal with the potential love of my life? Yeah, like that.

The romantic subplot also gives me plenty of opportunities to write pithy scenes filled with flirting and later, sex. Yeah, those are probably the main reasons. ^_^ I’m really liking where it’s going, though. We’ll see if I still like it when I get to the dreaded editing.

Leave a Reply

