“How similar? Was it the same cat?”

Any guesses on that one? C’mon, I believe in you.

So, my topic for the day is resubs. That’s sending the same submission to an agent or editor who’s already read it once. I’ve found many conflicting opinions on the internet, and it’s something I’ve been thinking about since I recently did it. I resubbed to an agent that I submitted to two years ago. At the time, the manuscript was the best I could make it, but I’ve learned a lot since then. While I wouldn’t want to say that it’s been overhauled, it’s been tightened, toned and streamlined. Description has been added, and fat has been cut. My query letter, however, was over hauled in a big way. With all of this, I thought, there’s no way he’ll remember me.

The more I think about it, though, the more I realize that he probably wouldn’t remember me from six months ago unless I made an impression in a ‘we really like it but can’t take it now’ sort of way. Of course, that could be my ego talking again. The consensus on the internet seemed to be that if the manuscript has gone through a lot of changes or it’s been awhile since you submitted to that agent/editor, then it’s perfectly all right to resub. Just make sure those changes you made weren’t to please that particular person. If they gave you feedback, consider it and move on, but if they had wanted you to change it for them, they would have requested a rewrite.

Leave a Reply

