Sing it with me, “The waiting is the hardest part!”

So, right now, I’m doing something that every aspiring writer will have to do time and again…waiting for an agent to respond. And this isn’t just any waiting. She requested pages from me, so it’s even more agonizing waiting. A page request, for those of you that don’t know, is when an agent asks for more material after seeing your initial query. And it’s a nail-biting time. Most agents’ initial response time is actually lower than the time it takes them after they’ve requested pages. I know, right? I’m still waiting, though, and I’m resisting the urge to query her, even though she’s over the ‘deadline’ she gave herself. Every time I’ve queried an agent, I’ve gotten a rejection letter almost immediately. I don’t really know why this is, so I’d think hard about doing it again.

While you’re wating, here are some fabulous books with great advice on how to get published:

Complete Idiots Guide to Publishing Science Fiction

Making a Perfect Pitch to Literary Agents

Yeah, these are both links to Amazon, but you do what you feel is right. I just wanted to show you the books.

Leave a Reply

