A bunch of paper is not a baby

So, here’s my rejection tip for Wednesday. You are not your writing. When I first heard this, I didn’t buy it. Writing is personal. Oftentimes, I would draw from my own experiences to complete my characters. How could my writing not be personal?

But, you know what, it still isn’t. If you see yourself in your manuscript, or if you see it as your child, rejection will be really hard for you to take. After all is said and done, and you’ve written your novel and printed it out, what you have is a bunch of paper. When an agent rejects it (and you’ll have at least one rejection, believe you me) they are rejecting the paper, not you. They don’t know you. They’ve never met you. They can’t possibly reject you. It’s just the bunch of paper that they don’t want. Toss that paper out into the world.

One thought on “A bunch of paper is not a baby

  1. Amen, sister! I think I’m going to print this out and nail it (and not any rejection letters…those go in the TRASH) to my wall.

Leave a Reply

