You’re all invited!

Published June 13, 2012 by barbaraannwright

Me: Guess what? You’re invited to a masquerade celebrating the release of The Pyramid Waltz by Barbara Ann Wright, you lucky dog!

You: Holy canned peaches! I love a masquerade! When is it?

Me: Saturday, October 6, 2012 from 6 to 10pm

You: I’m free that evening, even if I have to cancel my own wedding! Where do I go?

Me: Carmelo’s Restaurant, 504 East 5th Street, Austin, TX 78701

You: I would fly to MARS to go to this! Will there be free vittles and booze at this shindig?

Me: Yes! Food and drinks provided.

You: Will I be able to buy your book?

Me: You bet your sweet ass! And if you bring a copy that you’ve already purchased, I’ll sign it for you.

You: Awesome! Now what the eff is a masquerade?

Me: According to dictionary.com, it’s “a party, dance, or other festive gathering of persons wearing masks and other disguises, and often elegant, historical, or fantastic costumes.”

All we really want from you is cocktail wear/Sunday dress and the mask. If you need ideas on where to buy a mask, let me know. (Hint, type, “masks for masquerade ball” into your search engine.) If you want to go full costume or formal wear, go for it. How often do we get to really let loose, after all?

Please RSVP. I’ll be sending out reminder emails as we get closer to the launch date, and I’ll need a final head count for the restaurant, so even if you’re a maybe, let me know, and mark those calendars now. If you don’t RSVP, you might not get the tasty food and beverages.

Just a final note in case you didn’t get it:

Free food and booze just for wearing a mask in public.

9 comments on “You’re all invited!

  • This is the BEST invitation I’ve ever received. I so wish I could go, but it’s just too far for me.

    And I would gladly cancel my wedding. My current husband would insist. Keep us posted. I want to see pictures.

  • Barbara, what an awesome and fun invitation :) It’s on a perfect day – my big five-oh :)
    And though I’d love to be there and celebrate with such a charming personality – I’m sure that my wife has plans. But thank you for the smiles – and by liking your page – I made a puppy smile as well.

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 168 other followers

