Oil filters, how like life

Published February 16, 2010 by barbaraannwright

So, I need to change the oil filter in my car, only, I don’t know how to change an oil filter. Internet sites dealing with this topic assume you already know something about cars. I’m definitely in unknown territory and will most-likely take my shiny new oil filter to someone who knows what they’re doing.

It made me think of how much info is out there for new writers. In a way, it’s good. In another, it’s still a little confusing. With so much info, it’s easy to get contradicting opinions. And when you’re sending off your first query and you want it to be perfect, contradicting opinions is the last thing you need.

I saw a person on one blog asking if the fifty pages an agent had requested needed to be double-spaced. Everyone exploded in the comments. “Of course it needs to be double-spaced!” They assumed she wasn’t ready for submission if she didn’t know this. She had a pretty good retort. Requested pages need to be double-spaced…except when they don’t. She cited an agent who wanted single-spaced pages. It just goes to show that there’s never an easy answer. There’s always an exception. And if you saw one agent asking for single-spaced pages, and you weren’t very experienced, it might just make you question whether double was the unspoken rule.

I’ve walked a lot of people through the submission process. I’ve been doing it a long time, and I hope I never just assume a new submitter has attained mystical knowledge about it. I hope I never jump down anyone’s throat. There’s so much knowledge out there to be processed, and sometimes, it takes a live human being to tell you that you’ve been looking at the wrong side of the car. The oil filter is actually underneath. I didn’t know that until someone told me.

Anyone got questions? Concerns? Bust them out. I really have been submitting for a long time. I’ve also been honing my craft in the meantime. If I can’t answer your submitting questions, I probably know a site that can.

6 comments on “Oil filters, how like life

  • The oil filter removal & replacement will require a special wrench.

    You will need to place a basin under the oil pan to drain the old oil.

    You will need to have 4 or 5 qts of new oil on hand to replace the old. (You will not be able to run to the auto supply store in the middle of this task.)

    DO NOT forget to install the oil plug before adding new oil.

    Dispose of old oil & filter properly – neighbor’s rose bushes or flower beds work well – if done at night.

    You will undoubtedly be able to get 20 differing opinions/instructions on how to go about this chore – suggest you contact a literary guru ASAP to get CLEAR guidance.

      • The last time I changed my own oil was in 1983. Don’t ask how I remember THAT. I drove up onto my bright red steel ramps (which I bought for that specific chore) – went too far & slid off the front, leaving the frame stuck & the wheels 8″ off the driveway. Took 2 hours to jack the *$%&# thing up & get the ramps outta there, while my neighbor mocked me. My $60 ramps were put out in the trash the following week.

  • LOL! Thanks for making the open invite to readers to ask their questions. I am a firm believer that there is no such thing as a stupid question, nor is there such a thing as common sense. What one knows does not mean everyone else does as well.

    I appreciate your time helping others get going on the right track.

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 182 other followers

